9 stellar Ads awarded at 11th NLMMA for Gender Sensitivity 2021

Nine compelling advertisements for their gender sensitivity were recognized at the recently concluded National edition of the 11th Laadli Media & Advertising Awards for Gender Sensitivity (NLMAAGS).

The Grand Prix in the advertisement category was bagged by Animal for Bhima Jewellery. The film is a beautiful journey from introversion to stepping into her own, as it traces the transformation of a trans-woman from a shy young adult to a confident young bride ensconced in her family’s warmth and understanding about her choice.

The Award for the Public Service Announcement for hand wash was given to Ogilvy India and Savlon Swasthya India for #NohandUnwashed. Released on the Global Handwash Day 2020, this brilliant film features Swapna Augustine, a foot artist from the Mouth and Foot Painters (MFPA) Association to emphasize the importance of washing hands before eating.

The Award for Product was given to FCB India for Horlicks- Tum Kab Itney Bade Hogaye, a film about a daughter who surprises her mother by responding to a difficult situation with confidence.

The Award for Corporate Social Responsibility was given to Leo Burnett, for Whisper Keep the Girls in School. The film looks at the reason why a substantial section of our girls who attain menarche stay out of school and looks at educating them about menstruation hygiene and best practices.

The Jury Appreciation Citation for category Brand, went to Ogilvy India for Dove - #StopTheBeautyTest - Beauty Standards. The advertisement challenges the beauty standards and questions the stigmatization of those who do not conform to these standards.

The Jury Appreciation Citation for category Product was given to LoweLintas for the advertisement #iammytype, SkinKraft, as it questions the stereotypical boxes that women have typically been put into and celebrates their distinct personalities, sets of religious beliefs, habits, lifestyles, philosophies, political instincts, and professions.

Taproot Dentsu bagged The Jury Appreciation Citation for Public Service Announcement for sexual harassment, for Nip In The bud | 3 Years After #MeToo, for iDiva, which marks the third anniversary of the #Me Too movement, and reminds people that calling out to perpetrators of such heinous crimes is a must as consequences of not doing so, can be detrimental and give them a carte blanche to continue in their ways.

A delightful film that shows a feisty young woman effectively putting a presumptuous suitor in his place, #Anti-Dowry by Benshi Films for Kerela State Film Development Corporation, was granted the Jury Appreciation Citation for Public Service Announcement against dowry.

Dentsu Impact India and Paytm were presented Special Mention Citation for “The Divide”, A Social Experiment, which highlighted gender gap in financial literacy and decision making

Hans Jacob Frydenlund, the Honorable Ambassador, Norwegian Embassy in India, and Mr Sriram Haridass, Country Representative, UNFPA India, were the guests of honour. Noted journalist, writer and television personality, Mrinal Pande was the chief guest. The initiative was once again supported by UNFPA and the Norwegian Embassy in India. The National Laadli Media & Advertising Awards for Gender Sensitivity (NLMAAGS). recognize noteworthy work in the fields of journalism, advertising, films, television, theatre and books and are one its kind initiative.

This year the Laadli of the Century was given to the multifaceted Shama Zaidi, screenplay writer, costume designer, art director, theatre person, art critic, and documentary filmmaker while the Laadli Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred upon Padma Shri Neelam Mansingh Chowdhry, a renowned theatre personality, for their path breaking work in their respective fields which inspired many to follow in their footsteps. Tanuja Chandra, the noted director and writer was recognized as the Laadli Woman Behind the Screen, for her women focussed work. A new category The Laadli Gender Champion Award was introduced this year in memory of the triumvirate of India’s feminist movement, Gail Omvedt, Kamla Bhasin and Sonal Shukla. It was given to Flavia Agnes, the noted gender activist and women’s rights lawyer whose organization, Majlis has assisted many women seeking legal recourse. Well known gender economist and women rights activist.

Anubha Sinha’s Thappad was felicitated in the theatrical release category, while The Great Indian Kitchendirected by Jeo Baby which released on Amazon Prime was recognised in the OTT category. Srishti Bakshi’shard hitting W.O.M.B-(Women of my Billion) directed by Ajitesh Sharma and produced by Apoorva Bakshi was awarded the best documentary. Garima and Susheela, the feisty twins from Kaatey Lal & Sons were awarded the “Laadli The Most Inspiring Woman Protagonist In a TV Serial”. Ji, Jaisi Aapki Marzi by Nadira Babbar and her Ekjute Theatre Group was recognised for its stark portrayal of women in the theatre category. While Parmesh Shahani’s Autobiography Queeristan, Rituparna Chatterjee’s memoir The Water Phoenix, Kavita Krishnan Non-Fiction Fearless Freedom, Vandana Rag’s Fiction Bisat Par were the five books recognized in the books category, fifteen journalists from amongst the regional winners were selected to receive the national accolade for their work and included TV9 Telugu, Anna Keerthy George, Boondh.Co, C Vanaja, Juhi Smita, Dr. Shantanu Abhyankar, Aishwarya Amritvijayraj, Sharanya Manivannan, Navamy Sudhish, Md. Asghar Khan, Siddharth Dube, Parikshit Nirbhay, Vandana, Sadaf Modak, and Nitasha Natu.


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Media