banner image banner image

Amar Ujala Concluded Shabd Samman’s First Chapter, Felicitates Awardees

Hindi literature and literatures in regional languages, reflect the cosmos of Indian dreams and aspirations. There was a need for a platform to understand nuances of language as a reflection of changes in cultural milieu. ‘Shabd Samman was created by Amar Ujala group  to recognize those who are working towards preserving the ethos of literature.

The first chapter of Shabd Samman concluded on 31st January 2019 in Delhi in the presence of  ex-President Shri Pranab Mukherjee who awarded the winners. More than 1200 titles were submitted to a panel of jury members comprising of stalwart writers –Gyanranjan, Manglesh Dabral,Vishwanath Tripathi,Prayag Shukl and Sudhish Pichauri who judged the submissions. The award was not only for recognition of books with a literary value but for works of literature with a deep understanding of cultural shifts.

Shabd Samman’s highest honour “Akashdeep” for overall contribution in literary filed was given to eminent critic Dr. Namwar Singh for Hindi Language and renowned artist-guru Girish Karnad for Non- Hindi language category. In the fiction category Manish Vaidya's collection 'Fugati Ka Joota' was recognized.

In poetry category,  the collection of R Chetan Kranti’s  ‘Veerta par Vichlit' and in the non-fiction category Anil Yadav's book 'Sonam Gupta Bewafa Nahi Hai' was given the award. Under the first work category, Praveen Kumar's work 'Chhabila Rangabaaz ka Shahar' has been recognized. In the translation category, Gorakh Thorath was embellished with an award 'Dekhni' (original work Bhalchandra Nemarde).Each awardee was presented with a cash reward along with a specially designed sculpture by Shri Ram Suttar.  

 Commenting on the success of the first chapter of Shabd Samman, Yashwant Vyas, group advisor mentioned “India is a cauldron of various cultures and literature is the binding force of those cultural values. So as a Hindi media house it was a natural step to provide impetus to the works of literary stalwarts who are preserving the spirit of Literature, the true essence of a culture, hence Shabd Samman “

With the closure of the first chapter, Shabd Samman promises of more robust chapters in the coming years. 

Jury Members:


Hindi Novelist and Short Story writer

Pahal an influential literary magazine in the Hindi language is brought out by Gyanranjanji.

The magazine publishes poetry, fiction, non-fiction, critique and essays concentrating on issues of contemporary interest coming out with 3-4 issues since 1973

In 2016 he was awarded with Gyangareema Award

His most noted works have been: Sapna Nahi, Kabaadkhana, Meri Priya Sampadit Kahaniya

His characters are mostly influenced by reality and not illusion and are looking at bringing about a change in the society.

Manglesh Dabral

Manglesh Dabral is a prominent contemporary Indian poet who writes in Hindi.

He has also been the editor of Jansatta, Sahara Samay and also National Book Trust as an Editorial Consultant.

He has published five collections of poetry, namely, Pahar Par Lalten, Ghar Ka Rasta, Ham Jo Dekhte Hain, Awaz Bhi Ek Jagah Hai and Naye Yug Men Shatru, two collections of prose Lekhak Ki Roti and Kavi Ka Akelapan, and a travel diary Ek Bar Iowa.

He has received the Sahitya Akademi Award given by Sahitya Akademi in 2000 for his poetry collection Ham Jo Dekhte Hain.

Vishwanath Tripathi

A Hindi writer,he has around 20 publications to his credit which include literary criticism, memoirs and poetry collection.

He was awarded :

In 2014 - Moortidevi Award (The Moortidevi Award is an India literary award annually presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith)

In 2013 - Vyas Samman a literary award in India by K.K. Birla Foundation

Most noted work- Vyomakesh darvesh (Biography and criticism of Hazari Prasad Dwivedi- a literary historian)

Prayag Shukl

Poet, art critic and fiction writer

published nine poetry books, five collections of short stories, three novels, a book on art appreciation, Dekhna, and a book on Satyajit Roy, Ek Filmkaar kee Oonchai

ये साहित्य अकादेमी का अनुवाद पुरस्कार, शरद जोशी सम्मान एवं द्विजदेव सम्मान से सम्मानित हैं

Sudhish Pichauri

सुधीश पचौरी के साहित्यिक योगदान के लिए इन्हें भारतेन्दु हरिश्चन्द्र सम्मान, हिन्दी साहित्यिक सम्मान और रामचन्द्र शुक् सम्मान से सम्मानित किया जा चुका है। केंद्रीय हिंदी संस्थान ने हिंदी आलोचना के क्षेत्र में अप्रतिम हिंदी सेवा करने के लिए उन्हें सुब्रह्मण् भारती पुरस्कार से सम्मानित किया है।


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Media