Ford Figo wins Car of the year: Bloomberg UTV | Autocar India Awards 2011

The much awaited Bloomberg UTV | Autocar India Awards 2011 concluded amidst great fanfare today. It was time once again for the stalwarts of the Indian automobile industry to take centre stage. The Bloomberg UTV | Autocar India Awards 2011 presented by HDFC Bank set the benchmark as an exceptional evening in the calendar of events for the year with some of the most prominent personalities from the Automobile, Finance and Entertainment Industry gracing the event.

The grandeur of the evening was further enhanced when Silver Screen Diva and critically acclaimed actress Vidya Balan presented the award for the Best Car & Bike of the Year to Ford Figo and Honda CB Twister respectively.

Speaking on the occasion, Deepak Lamba, Business Head - Bloomberg UTV, said "The automobile industry plays a significant role in the economic growth of our country. The Bloomberg UTV |Autocar India Awards is an endeavour to honor those who with their unmatched excellence and dedication have contributed to bringing the industry to where it is today. We congratulate all the winners and look forward to some more exciting and award winning work next year."

The awards have been associated with unrivaled credibility due to its rigorous selection procedure and its distinguished jury, which ensured that the most deserving cars and bikes were declared winners in their respective categories. This year was the jury led by Hormazd Sorabjee, Editor, Autocar India and foremost auto enthusiast in the country; Shapur Kotwal, Deputy Editor, Autocar India; Renuka Kirpalani; Editor, The Autocar Show; Narain Karthikeyan, India's foremost racing driver; Dilip Chhabria, India's leading Car Designer; Manwendra Singh, India's leading Automobile Historian; Dilip Rogger, Ace Motorcycle Racer; Rishad Cooper, Two-wheeler Editor, Autocar India and Kartikeya Singhee, Deputy Editor, Autocar Show.

The list of categories and the winners are as follows:

Best Value for Money Car- Ford Figo

Best Variant of the Year- Maruti Suzuki Alto K10

Manufacturer of the Year- Ford

Technology & Innovations Award- Volvo XC60

4x4 of the Year- Skoda Yeti

Premium Compact car of the Year- Ford Figo

Bike of the Year- Honda CB Twister

Viewer's Choice Car of the Year- Ford Figo

Car Dealer of the Year- Kataria Automobiles ' Rohan Kataria

Motor Insurance Agent of the Year- Mangesh Auto Centre ' Reena Milind Wagle

More in Marketing