Sony SIX and Sony PAL to broadcast the Syed Modi International Badminton Championships

Sony Six and Sony Pal to broadcast the Semi – Finals and Finals of the Syed Modi International Badminton Championships 2015. Sony PAL will telecast the live event with Hindi feed between 2.00pm to 7.00pm on Saturday 24th January and Sunday January 25th 2015. To further strengthen the viewership of the tournament, the deferred telecast of the semi-finals and finals will be on Sony SIX in the prime time evening slot 7.00pm onwards. Taking under consideration the growing popularity of badminton in the country, SONY SIX has undertaken the route of deferred feed in prime-time to ensure greater audience reach.

Commenting on this announcement, Akhilesh Das Gupta, President, BAI (Badminton Association of India) said, “We are thrilled to be partnering with Sony SIX in bringing the final culminating stages of the tournament live to our audience. With the dual language feeds, prime-time telecast, high-quality content and sheer sporting action, we are optimistic in our mission to further advance the popularity of badminton across markets in India.”

T.P.S. Puri, Vice President, Administration, BAI said, “It gives us great pleasure to award the broadcast rights of the semis and finals of the tournament to Sony SIX. With this the viewers will be able to witness some of the best of international and domestic badminton talent take the court.”

Prasana Krishnan, Business Head of SONY SIX, said, “The tournament is an exciting addition to our line-up of some of the best in domestic sports content and we are thrilled to be associated with such a grand event that hosts few of India’s brightest sporting talents. This year with the introduction of the Hindi feed and prime time telecast, we aim to tap into the rising popularity of badminton in India and cut across varied audience profile.”

Olympic bronze medallist Saina Nehwal will be seen looking at kick-starting her title defence against the likes of third seed P V Sindhu and the reigning world champion Carolina Marin of Spain. ”This year, the tourney will also host the best of domestic badminton talents including P C Tulashi, K Srikanth, Ajay Jayaram, H S Prannoy, RMV Gurusaidutt, Shreyansh Jaiswal and K Ajay Kumar amongst many more, battling it out for the prestigious tittle.


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment