banner image banner image

The green imapact of Olive Crown Awards during GoaFest 2011

The India Chapter of International Advertising Association (IAA-IC) conducted its maiden Olive Crown Awards Presentation at the Goafest 2011, Seminar Hangar on April 9, 2011.  Most of the industry CEOs graced the function with Sir John Hegarty as the Guest of Honor and Mr Bittu Sahgal as the Chief Guest.
The evening started with Bittu Sahgal being conferred the first IAA Olive Crown Green Crusader Award, which he received from the IAA-IC President, Mr Kaushik Roy and the Chairman of the Olive Crown Awards, Mr Ramesh Narayan.
Talking about the award Kaushik Roy, President IAA-IC said “This is India’s first ‘Green’ award for creative excellence in communicating sustainability. It’s an award that not only celebrates the work done by advertising agencies and the advertisers but also supports concern for our home - planet earth. We are proud to have started a movement in India for which there is already a global recognition and a request for offering the franchise to other countries”.
Sir John Hegarty, who gave away the coveted trophies, such as the Green Campaign of the year, was quick to remark “The advertising industry has always been known for ‘selling’, now it’s time to be known for ‘saving’ the earth.”
Advertisers such as Aircel and Toyota made their presence felt with the ‘Save The Tiger’ and the NDTV-Toyota “Greenathon’ campaigns, respectively. For both, the common agency was Dentsu who walked away with the ‘Green Agency of the Year’ trophy. Aircel was the clear leader as the ‘Green Advertiser of the Year’. Idea and Nokia shared the Green Brand of the Year Gold for ‘Save Paper – Use Mobile’ and ‘Planet Ke Rakhwale – Mobile Recycle’, respectively. The Green Brand Award was judged in consultation with TERI, the Knowledge Partner.
The eminent panel of judges was led by Sam Balsara as the Chairman of the Judging Committee who got a fine mix of practicing Creative Heads as well as some Ex Creative Heads who today work in the area of conservation and developmental work. The judges were: Bobby Pawar - Mudra, Mr B Ramnathkar - Umbrella, Mr Gangadharan Menon – Ex Creative Director now Wild Life Photographer & Activist, Ms Lynn de Souza Lintas Media/Animal Activist, Mr Russell Barrett - BBH, Mr Saumya Sen Ex Creative Director now Developmental Filmmaker/Activist, Mr Sumanto Chattapadhyay – O&M.

News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment