The One Club for Creativity announces Young Guns 16 winners

The One Club for Creativity, the world’s foremost non-profit organisation recognising creative excellence in advertising and design, has announced the winners of the global Young Guns 16, the industry’s only international, cross-disciplinary, portfolio-based awards competition that identifies and celebrates today’s vanguard of young creative professionals age 30 or younger. 

Entries were received from 38 countries and judged by 61 top creatives from around the world, about half of whom are past Young Guns winners. This year’s winners will be celebrated at the Young Guns 16 awards ceremony and party on November 15, 2018 at the Highline Ballroom in New York. 

The Young Guns 16 winners are: 

Sasha Arutyunova, photographer, Brooklyn, NY, USA (originally from Moscow, Russia)

CALMATIC, filmmaker, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Neels Castillon, film director, Paris, France

Nadia Lee Cohen, photographer, director, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Tyler Comrie, graphic designer, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Mary Dauterman, multidisciplinary artist, director, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Sally Deng, illustrator, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Ben Denzer, artist, designer, publisher, New York, NY, USA

Michael Fohring, architectural designer, Toronto, ON, Canada

Sophie Koko Gate, animation director, London, UK

Max Guther, illustrator, Berlin, Germany

Satoshi Kohno, art director, Tokyo, Japan

Brook Linder, director, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Jonas Lindstroem, photographer, director, Berlin, Germany

Nick Little, illustrator, Brooklyn, NY, USA

Mathery, directors, photographers, spatial designers, Brooklyn, NY, USA (originally from Italy)

Kelsey McClellan, photographer, San Francisco, CA, USA

Tal Midyan, art director designer, Brooklyn, NY, USA (originally from Tel Aviv, Israel)

Ilya Milstein, illustrator, New York, NY, USA (originally from Melbourne, Australia)

Mau Morgo, director, artist, Barcelona, Spain

Thomas Harnett O’Meara, filmmaker, London, UK

Victo Ngai, illustrator, Los Angeles, CA, USA (originally from Hong Kong)

Zebedee Pedersen, creative technologist, London, UK

Joel Plosz, illustrator, Brooklyn, NY, USA (originally from Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada)

Marco Prestini, music video and commercial director, Milan, Italy and Los Angeles, CA, USA

Noa Raviv, fashion designer, artist, Queens, NY, USA (originally from Tel Aviv, Israel)

Charlotte Regan, film director, London, UK

A.V. Rockwell, filmmaker, New York, NY, USA

Jiaxi Yand and Zhe Zhu, photography, New York, NY, USA (originally from Shanghai, China)

Egle Zvirblyte, illustrator, London, UK

All Young Guns 16 winners receive a unique version of the iconic Young Guns Cube, designed exclusively for this year’s incoming class, and have their permanent profile page added to the Young Guns website. Winners also receive a complimentary one-year membership to The One Club for Creativity, permanent membership in Young Guns network, a chance to be featured in Young Guns events and an assortment of career-boosting opportunities from Young Guns sponsors. 

The Young Guns 16 Awards ceremony will be held on November 15, 2018 and will be hosted by Gemma O’Brien, acclaimed Australian artist and designer specialising in lettering, typography and illustration and Young Guns 13 winner. 

This year’s event includes announcement of the inaugural Diageo-Young Guns Diversity & Inclusion Award winner, recognising an outstanding body of work from a Young Guns 16 finalist who is a woman and/or person of colour. The winner, as judged by teams at Diageo North America and The One Club, will have the opportunity to collaborate on a creative project for Diageo on one of the company’s global brands, which include Johnnie Walker, Crown Royal, Bulleit and Buchanan's whiskies, Smirnoff, Cîroc and Ketel One vodkas, Captain Morgan, Baileys, Don Julio, Tanqueray and Guinness. 

For the second year, The One Club will hold the Young Guns Creative Choice Award, where the global creative community at large can explore the work of Young Guns 16 winners and select which one they believe stands above all others. Voting is open through Wednesday, November 14, 2018, with the winner announced at the Young Guns 16 awards ceremony in New York the following evening. 

And for the fifth consecutive year, international artists management agency and Young Guns sponsor Levine/Leavitt will announce their Artist In Residence winner at the November 15 event. The honour is presented each year to the newly crowned Young Gun whose body of work stands out from even their fellow winners. 

Selected by a special advisory board of industry professionals across a range of disciplines, recipients of the Artist-In-Residence Award receive a full year of professional management, guidance and mentorship to help take their young careers to new heights. From contract negotiations and client fees to portfolio management, the Levine/Leavitt team will help navigate winners through the business side of creativity. 

Young Guns 16 has on board Diageo as presenting sponsor, while official sponsors are Crealev, Levine/Leavitt, Shutterstock and Sunday Afternoon, and supporting partners are BBDO, Facebook and MediaMonks and Nickelodeon Velocity. 

Young Guns branding is developed each year by a past winner. Branding for Young Guns 16 was designed by New York-based creative studio and artist representation agency Sunday Afternoon, led by Young Guns 11 winner Juan Carlos Pagan, co-founder and executive creative director. 

Past Young Guns include rising stars who went on to become leaders in their chosen fields, including advertising creatives Rei Inamoto (YG4) and Menno Kluin (YG6); graphic designers James Victore (YG1), Stefan Sagmeister (YG1) and Jessica Walsh (YG8); illustrators Christoph Niemann (YG2) and Deanne Cheuk (YG4); photographers Ryan McGuinness (YG2) and Jeremy Floto/Cassandra Warner (aka floto+warner, YG5); typographers Alex Trochut (YG6); film and video director Mike Mills (YG1), animation artist Todd St. John (YG1) and others.


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Advertising