Toisa honours the achievements of Indian sportspersons

The Times of India Sports Awards (TOISA), India’s first and biggest popular choice sports awards held at JW Marriot honoured Indian champions across various sports disciplines on March 20th. The glittering awards ceremony witnessed the presence of coveted Indian sports personalities, Bollywood celebrities, corporate leaders and other distinguished guests. Nadia Comaneci, the world gymnastics icon and first gymnast ever to score a perfect 10 graced the event as the Mentor and motivated and applauded the contributions of Indian players.

PV Sindhu, the first Indian woman Badminton player to win an Olympic silver medal, was named the Sportsperson of the Year. Former India Hockey captain Ajit Pal Singh received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his invaluable contribution to the sport. Dipa Karmakar, the Indian gymnast who won millions of hearts with her performance at Rio received the Inspiration of the Year from her icon Nadia. Sakshi Malik won the Wrestler of the year Award. A special segment was on the achievements of our Paralympians. Bollywood biggies like Vidya Balan, Imtiaz Ali, Shoojit Sircar, Atul Kasbekar, Rahul Bose, Sonu Sood, Prachi Desai and many more came to present the awards to our beloved Sports champions.

The dazzling awards evening progressed with the achievers and award winners in different categories being named and honoured with the prizes. Scintillating dance performances by former Miss Diva Universe and Bollywood actress Urvashi Rautela and former Miss India Asha Bhat added to the glamour of the event. Stand-up comedy by East India Company and RaagaTrippin Musical Act had the audience gasping for more. The eminent Jury panel comprised of expert sports persons who meticulously selected the Jury-Choice Award winners. The popular-choice awards in various categories were based on a 30-day open voting from fans across India.

Chief National Coach for the Indian Badminton team, Pullela Gopichand won the award for the best coach. BCCI CEO Rahul Johri received the award on behalf of the Indian cricket team. Some other award winners in different sports groups included, Vijender Singh, Pankaj Advani, Vishwanathan Anand, R Ashwin, Virat Kohli, Sania Mirza, and Leander Paes.


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Media