With 18.8 mn tweets, 100% jump in conversation, IPL a hit on Twitter too

After two months of thrilling action on the field, it was @ChennaiIPL who emerged victorious and lifted the Indian Premier League (@IPL) trophy for the third time. They did it on their comeback to the League and in style, with a clinical chase in the final. Fans love Tweeting about #IPL and sent 18.8 million Tweets in 2018, a 100 per cent rise in the number of IPL-related Tweets in 2017. In addition, the #IPLFinals 2018 was the most Tweeted finals ever in the history of the tournament recording over 1 million Tweets. 

Aneesh Madani, Head of Sports Partnerships, Asia Pacific, Twitter, observed, “This was by far the most talked about IPL on Twitter ever. The excitement was palpable right from the moment Kedhar Jadhav won the first match for the Chennai Super Kings with a boundary at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai and Ambati Rayudu did an encore to win the final. Fans had fun with Indian language emojis for the teams, had access to 170 live episodes of #CricbuzzLIVE on Twitter, and enjoyed a direct connection to commentators with personal video replies via #SelectDugout.” 

 Cricket speaks people’s language on Twitter, and it showed with the launch of Indian language emojis that were used by the IPL franchises this year. #WhistlePodu #விசில்போடு topped the 2018 Twitter IPL Emoji Index by a mile, coming in 175 per cent ahead of the next team.

  1. Chennai Super Kings: #WhistlePodu or #விசில்போடு
  2. Delhi Daredevils: #DilDilli or #दिलदिल्ली
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore: #PlayBold or #RCB
  4. Sunrisers Hyderabad: #OrangeArmy or #SRH
  5. Kolkata Knight Riders: #KKRHaiTaiyaar or #কেকেআরতৈরী
  6. Mumbai Indians: #MI or #क्रिकेटमेरीजान
  7. Kings XI Punjab: #LivePunjabiPlayPunjabi or #KXIP
  8. Rajasthan Royals: #Hallabol or #हल्लाबोल

 On a blazing comeback trail, Chennai Super Kings gave their fans plenty to celebrate, and they spread their #yellove all across Twitter, making CSK the most mentioned team in the IPL’s 11th season. 

  1. Chennai Super Kings @ChennaiIPL
  2. Mumbai Indians @mipaltan
  3. Royal Challengers Bangalore @RCBTweets
  4. Kolkata Knight Riders @KKRiders
  5. Sunrisers Hyderabad @SunRisers
  6. Kings XI Punjab @lionsdenkxip
  7. Delhi Daredevils @DelhiDaredevils
  8. Rajasthan Royals @rajasthanroyals


Fans were able to enjoy the #CricbuzzLIVE show that streamed live on Twitter every day, before, during and after the matches during the entire season. There were 170 episodes of Cricbuzz LIVE that were streamed on Twitter. Every Saturday, fans also went to watch the live streams alongside a curated timeline of Tweets from which fans engaged in the cricket conversation. The expert panel of the show featured Zaheer Khan (@ImZaheer), Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha), Gaurav Kapur (@gauravkapur), Michael Vaughan (@michaelvaughan), Simon Doull (@Sdoull), Joy Bhattacharjya (@joybhattacharj), Gautam Bhimani (@gbhimani) and Danish Sait (@DanishSait). 

The show got rave reviews with fans Tweeting to show their appreciation for the analysis and humour.

Star Sports #SelectDugout 

Star Sports lit up Twitter during IPL with the #SelectDugout experience. Fans got the unique opportunity to have their questions answered via personal video responses from a chance to have their questions answered from a wide group of experts representing multiple nationalities, including Brett Lee (@BrettLee_58), Scott Styris (@scottbstyris), Dean Jones (@ProfDeano), Anil Kumble (@anilkumble1074), Damien Fleming (@bowlologist), Darren Sammy (@darrensammy88), Graeme Smith (@GraemeSmith49), Kevin Pietersen (@KP24) and a host of other select experts.

 For More Stories Visit Here.


News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Media