banner image banner image

Lokmat initiates 'Goan of the Year' Awards 2016

Lokmat, Maharashtra and Goa’s No 1 Marathi daily, which earlier organized Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year Awards, hosted their 1st edition of ‘Lokmat Goan of the Year’ Awards 2016 on May 21, 2016 in Panjim, Goa. The event recognised the contribution of eminent personalities across various fields in the state of Goa, whose contribution has helped the state occupy a place of pride. Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred on Julio Rebeiro, Ex-DGP, Indian Police Service (retd.) and Civil Servant and ‘Goan of the Year’ was awarded to Rajdeep Sardesai, Consulting Editor of India Today Group, Former News Anchor and Editor-in-Chief of IBN18 Network.

Smt. Mridula Sinha (Hon. Governor of Goa), Chief Minister of Goa, Shri. Laxmikant Parsekar, Shri Vijay Darda, Chairman, Lokmat Media Pvt Ltd. and MP, Rajya Sabha and Mr Abhay Lodha, Chairman & MD, Topworth group of Companies graced the event. The occasion saw the presence of other important personalities of the state namely and over 1000 people attending from Goa. The event was presented by Maharashtra Tourism and powered by Deltin Group of Companies. 
The awards recognized achievers and luminaries across 9 categories as Education, Literature, Arts and Culture, Business, Politics – Influential Young and Senior Politician, Agriculture, Administrative Officer and Women Self Help Groups. It constituted of public voting as well as jury selection. 
The event’s highlights included special interview of 4 young politicians of Goa by Chief Minister, interview of Julio Rebeiro by Rajdeep Sardesai and Interview of Rajdeep Sardesai by Lokmat Goa Editor - Raju Naik
Lokmat readers had the dual opportunity of identifying the Goan of their choice from 5 nominees across 9 categories and either physically dropping it at any collection centre or sending a simple SMS to 5676702. There has been an overwhelming response with over 1 lac votes being generated by Goans.
Speaking on the occasion, Mr Rishi Darda, Editorial, Jt Managing Director, Lokmat Media Pvt Ltd. said, ‘’It’s an immense pleasure to host the Lokmat Goan of the year awards this year in the presence of distinguished national and local personalities in Goa.  After the resounding success of Lokmat Maharashtrian of the Year Awards, we are happy to connect with people of Goa through this event. As a voice of the masses, Lokmat newspaper represents people and their achievements. This event is a true representation of that. Our endeavor through these awards is  to bring to the fore their contributions that have led towards making Goa a great state today.”
Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Karun Gera, President Sales, Lokmat Media Pvt Ltd. said, “This is one of the most prestigious events in Goa which is one of our IPs and goes to become an annual feature every year. We are immensely grateful to our partners for extending their support for the event. Further continuing the association, we wish to provide all our partners a great value for their brands through this platform.”
Hailing from diverse walks of life, the members of the jury included eminent personalities namely, Shri Datta Nayak (a Sahitya Academy winner writer), Dr. Rajiv Kamat (a frequent contributor to Lokmat’s editorial page content), Shri Vishram Gupte (a prominent Marathi writer and local head of ‘Sangath” an NGO), Adv. Cleofat Almeida Coutinho (an eminent jurist and a contributor to all dailies in the state of Goa) and Mr. Deelip Borkar (Editor of ‘Bimb’, a Konkani magazine). 





Mr Rajesh Tarkar

A well reputed name in Real Estate development.


Vidya Prasarak Mandal

Runs educational institutes and been acknowledged by National assessment and Accreditation Council of U.G.C.


Mukesh Thaly

He is a popular Konkani writer and a linguist and works as a News Reader at AIR, Panaji.

Art and Culture

Ms Yahel Chirinian

A French artist and the owner of avant-gard Monsoon Heritage studio

Influential Young Politician

Mr Vijay Sardesai

An independent M.L.A who recently  launched a new political movement ‘Goa Forward’.

Influential Senior politician

Mr Pratapsing Rane

A Senior Politician in the state who is presently the Opposition Leader

Administrative Officer :

Daulat Hawaldar

Sunita Sawant

He is presently functioning as Secretary- Finance & Arts and Culture.

Serving as a DSYP she is known in the state as 'Goa's Kiran Bedi'


Mr. Harshad prabhudesai

A diploma holder in Electronics, he is known as an innovative agriculturist.

Womens Self Help group

Gaondongri Collective Farming Society

Has 517 members belonging to about 39 self help groups.  Active in the field of rural agriculture.

Goan of the Year

Rajdeep Sardesai

An eminent media personality

Life Time Achievement Award

Julio Rebello

A retired Indian police officer and civil servant



News in the domain of Advertising, Marketing, Media and Business of Entertainment

More in Marketing